News: 1/18/12 - Darci Stern's Urban Chaos for PC, a 1999 game created by MuckyFoot, is back and better than ever!  Check out Urban Chaos HQ
 
We Be HostiN (http://www.webehostin.com) hosts dedicated game servers for less!  We Be HostiN can host any games that have dedicated server files.  Our servers are located in Houston, Texas (Linux Server) and Kansas City, Missouri (Windows Server)
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. November 19, 2017, 05:25:52 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LBA2 Installation Problem  (Read 4135 times)
vasil.ponomarev
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: May 21, 2010, 02:00:03 pm »

Hello everyone!

I am really excited that someone keeps these great LBA series accessible on the modern PCs.

LBA1 was installed successfully and it returned me the atmosphere I've been missing for long Smiley

Unfortunately, I was unable to get LBA2 installation working.
I did the following with no luck:

1. Downloaded and mounted Alcohol and Nero images.
2. Burned Nero image to the real CD.
3. Tried to install LBA2 under DOS Box, which is not recommended, anyway.

It keeps showing me "setup.exe has stopped working" window after pressing "Next" button, when Readme file should be displayed. Please find the screenshot attached.

My OS is Windows 7 with all latest patches applied and drivers updated.

I was unable to find anyone who mentioned similar problem here before.
Do you have any ideas what might be the cause?

Thank you in advance!


* LBA2_Error.png (56.08 KB, 544x399 - viewed 473 times.)
Logged
earnolmartin
Administrator
Ownage Member
*****
Posts: 489



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2010, 05:30:18 pm »

I'll check.

Could be your download was not completed, as we were having server issues.  Try downloading from one of the mirrors instead.
Logged

vasil.ponomarev
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2010, 06:44:06 am »

Hello!

Thank you for the reply!

Unfortunately, broken file seems not to be the cause.
I downloaded image from one of the mirrors and compared its md5-sum with the image I already had. The sum is the same, so every bit of these images matches.
Logged
Romuald
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 10:09:40 am »

2 years too late, but might help :

Had the same problem, but you can fix that by allowing SETUP.EXE (found in LBAHQ Custom image) in Windows Data Execution Prevention (DEP)
How to find Windows DEP : http://farm1.staticflickr.com/47/163306123_8aeb256b35.jpg
Works even if using .iso with UltraISO/DaemonTools (Emulation).
Logged
earnolmartin
Administrator
Ownage Member
*****
Posts: 489



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 10:52:28 am »

Yeah, I don't run DEP, so I wouldn't have known this.  Thanks so much for letting us know!
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Video Games 101 Design:  © Eric Arnol-Martin 2016